Home > Life Series - Lessons Learned > Lesson # 20: From Stupid Moments

Lesson # 20: From Stupid Moments

Today, the overwhelming feeling that I have is that of stupidity. Somehow, I felt stupid today. Well ever since the night before, I believe. I can’t explain it but it’s there. Which leads me to the topic of my entry.

We all do stupid things.

It may be caused by intense pressure, by having too many things running through your brain, by having nothing running through your brain, it may be random, deliberate or just caused by being too caught up in the moment — bottom line is that we all have done something stupid in our lives.

More often than not we regret these stupid things, but hopefully we can get over the stupidity and make sure that it’s something to laugh about and something to tell our kids and grandkids.

I’ve done a lot of stupid things.

There are funny ones like the time I picked up dog poop when I was a kid, put my finger into the socket when I was a kid, pick on fights with a guy much taller than me, thought that I had a legitimate chance to be the guy of my 6th grade homeroom advisor, set my friends body hair on fire with a lighter, exchange my “millions” of play money for a v-tech computer of my classmate (well, that was more of clever than stupid), the time I got so “torpe” that I actually ran from the girl whom I was supposed to meet, the time I put my arms around someone who turned out to be a total stranger, and so on and so forth.

Then there are the more serious ones like the time I got too drunk I vomited in school, the time I got caught making out in public, the time I got my teacher to walk out because I was too noisy, the time I hit a car because I was texting my mom that I was about to go home, the time when I spent a lot of money on things I didn’t need, the time I went for the wrong person at the wrong time, the time I hurt people just because I lost my temper, the time I hurt people because I wasn’t thinking about what I was about to say, and so on and so forth.

Yes I regretted doing those things; but I learned.

Learned that:

Lesson 20.1: Those stupid moments are part of life. We must just learn not to let them get the best of us.

Lesson 20.2: There is truth to the song that goes: “♪♫♪♫And then I go and spoil it all by saying something stupid like I love you.♪♫”

Lesson 20.3: The best way to accept those stupid moments is to laugh at them.

and Lesson 20.4: Sometimes, these stupid things can actually lead to greater opportunities.

To force myself to continue writing this seems to be a stupid idea altogether given my fatigue and current state of mind enveloped by mixed feelings of sadness, stress, anger and just a little bit of relief that the day has come to an end.

So I shall leave it as it is. Good night.

So what’s the stupidest thing you’ve ever done?

  1. Smarty
    August 30, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    kind of unreasonable article. I felt very strange reading this story..
    The one who does stupidity tries to entertain.? I don’t think so.
    Well, I was wondering that if we eliminate whole the stupids in the world what the world would be like? think for a minute, there would be no war, no fightings, no any problems…
    So, the key to success is to avoid the stupidity and act cool and think smart.

    • August 31, 2011 at 3:09 am

      Hey Smarty! Thank you for your comment! But first let me get things straight, before you place anything judgmental and closed-minded on the comments box, try to read and understand the whole theme of the entry and entries written here – that is to learn from life experiences. I do hope you are intelligent enough to accept and understand that one stupid moment or decision does not make a person stupid. Secondly, don’t tell me you haven’t done anything stupid or committed any mistakes. For if that would be true, then send your picture to the Guiness Book of Records and they will put you in as the “Only PERFECT Person in the world.”

      You said the key to success is to act cool and think smart. Frankly, you only lived up to the first part of that statement. Read again. Maybe this time you will understand and maybe you will learn.

      Oh, and do work on your grammar, if you are to make comments on stupidity and go out calling the writer stupid and unreasonable, then you might as well make it convincing by fixing your train of thought and sentence construction.

      Thank you.

  2. boybanlag
    December 8, 2011 at 7:44 am

    Hey bud! was just browsing for some blogs and nadaan ako dito. Anyway, I find your posts entertaining! I am a fan! :)) Keep blogging, bro!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

