Home > Love Series - Love Letters > A boyfriend’s letter

A boyfriend’s letter

Dear Girlfriend,

I write because I want to tell you something – a lot of things, actually. I write because when I’m with you, words become superfluous. It’s like all words escape me and the lines I have practiced in my head a thousand times become all jumbled up once I stare into your eyes.

(Insert term of endearment here), Thank you.  I’ve got so many things to thank you for that I don’t even know where to start. Let me just put it this way – I’m often lost for words to show you how much I appreciate the things that you do so in this moment I just want to thank you for making me the happiest and luckiest guy alive. Thank you for being the absolute best and most wonderful girlfriend in the world.

(Insert term of endearment here),  allow me to apologize for, at times, succumbing to the pressures and dictates of society with regard to how men should act. Yeah, as I write and reveal my emotions I violate an unwritten code of supposed “strength” and dominance in relationships. I however, could only care less about those rules if it means that I can’t be as cheesy nor can I be as romantic and show how head-over-heels in love I am with you. So from this day forth, screw the rules. I’ll be as cheesy as I can be if I wanted to.

(Insert term of endearment here),  I give you permission to slap me when I become someone other than the guy you fell in love with. Please do so with a passion. Slap me to wake me up and remind me of the reasons why I fell in love with you. I hope we don’t fall into the trap that a lot of couples fall into – which is that world of too much comfort that it kills the romance in the relationship. Why, it’s the reason why I promised to propose to you every year in the first place. I promise to try to always be the cheesy, silly, flirty and trying-to-be-funny boy you fell in love with. (Along with my other traits, of course.)

Honestly, I’m new to this vulnerability that I feel as I open my heart and my mind to you more and more each day. I once had walls so high up around me and only you had the patience to break it down ever so gently. It’s a strange feeling as I have never revealed myself  this much to anyone other than a higher being whose face I have never seen.

I guess this is one of the things about being in love, at least for me. It’s entrusting to you the core of my being – allowing you to hold the things that make me who I am and giving you the power to either nurture it or crush it with a single blow. At the same time, It’s about nurturing the core of yours which you have entrusted to me – making sure that I keep it safe, I take care of it, and I help it grow.

(Insert term of endearment here),  I am yours. You had me giddy the moment I caught a glimpse of your smile. You had me crushing on you that day when our eyes met and I was able to see how beautiful they really are. You unknowingly sent a million butterflies fluttering inside my stomach when you first held my hand and you sent my heart falling and my mind spinning like crazy everyday thereafter.

Anyway, I have to end this because I feel that the words are starting to escape me once again. (It’s probably the thought of you that sends my heart aflutter and my mind aclutter)

That’s all (Insert term of endearment here).

I love you.

Crazy in-love,

Boyfriend

  1. Cherryl Si
    January 20, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    awww sweet🙂

  2. March 2, 2012 at 9:16 pm

    AWWW. SWEEET!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

