Home > Social Entrepreneur Series > Reflections of A Social Entrepreneur: The Start

Reflections of A Social Entrepreneur: The Start

It took a year for me to fully comprehend what I was doing. It took hours of developing camps for students and participants and hours of meetings and trips to the GK Enchanted Farm in Bulacan to give me the confidence to tell people that I’m running a training and development business I started with my friends.

It took one camp – with my being a participant instead of a Facilitator – for me to gain the confidence and pride in what I am doing as a SOCIAL ENTREPRENEUR.

Inasmuch as I know that I have barely scratched the surface of what we are about to embark on, barely able to grasp the immensity of the vision and dream of ending poverty, I feel that last weekend, I reached my own tipping point – that singular step from which there can be no stopping me nor my team anymore.

My blog hiatus came from the apparent confusion that I went through the past couple of months with regard to finding out my own true purpose and vision for myself. I didn’t want to blog needless things just for the sake of blogging – I wanted to write with purpose just in the same way that I want to live with one.

My purpose in writing is clear and simple: To Promote and Educate – To promote what we are doing and at the same time educate the people who have misinformed notions and thoughts about Social Entrepreneurship.

Only when we understand what brought us here in the first place; only when we realize that our gifts and talents were set for things beyond profit and wealth and only when we find value in the people that our country has long forgotten and neglected will we be able to truly make a difference.

  1. March 5, 2012 at 3:55 am

    Nice piece on social entrepreneurship, I share your values.
    Best Regards,
    Ben
    http://www.benjaminjgoldman.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

