Home > Teacher Series - Teacher Stories > Why I’ll Teach for the Philippines

Why I’ll Teach for the Philippines

I spent the past two years of my life attempting to build a business from the ground up.  I spent the past two years making mistakes and bouncing back just to keep the business running. I spent the last two years meeting and leading people who kept me going despite all the challenges that came my way.

I spent the last two years doing something I loved doing and making a business from something I’d actually be willing to do for free. For all the hardships, tears, times-I-almost-gave-up, we’re still standing and getting bigger as the months go.  The fulfillment of being here when statistics say that 94% of start-ups fail by their first year is something that I will forever cherish and never ever forget. The journey to 2 years has been unbelievable.

So why am I dedicating the next 2 years of my life full-time to Teaching in a public school?

It came from these three thoughts:

Thought # 1:If *knock on wood* something unfortunate happens to me that I may no longer be able to facilitate and design programs (be paralyzed, lose my voice, die), how can I continue to try and change the world?” I found myself searching for something bigger to give to this world than just a business that conducts training programs for the youth.

My answer? Get into education. Start a school. While training and development are sort of in-line with teaching, the impact that a school has is irreplaceable. Schools, as second homes, are the most influential formative tool for all members of society second only to the basic family unit. (in some cases it is the most influential). Schools are sustainable. So long as children are borne into this world, there will forever be a need for a school that can educate children the best way possible.

Thought # 2: “If you want to change the world, start early and start young”

As we learn more, it becomes harder to unlearn things and accept concepts and ideas that run against traditional norms and practices that perpetuate poverty and educational inequity among others. As we grow older, it becomes more difficult to change, to want change, to lead change.

Thought # 3: “What is the best way for me to help my current business scale?” While Frontline is doing pretty well, it needs to scale. We strongly believe that it has the potential to be a leading service provider in the field of training and development.

My answer? I have to turn over the reins of the business to someone else. My lack of a conditioned  and educated business mind won’t make the business scale. Someone else can do it. It’s time for me to take a supportive role and allow someone to Lead the Change within the organization. For the past two years, I can say that I have given the company an identity and culture and most importantly the heart and love for what we do. Someone else now needs to come in to take the business to the next level.

Teaching in a public school for two years will give me the opportunity to “change the world” by giving hope to kids who haven’t been given the chance to dream, by making kids believe in themselves even when others don’t, by giving them the best possible education that they can receive.

For the next 2 years, I will teach for the Philippines. Beyond that? I still don’t know. I just have a strong feeling that I’ll be in the education sector for long time, if not for the rest of my life.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

